If you travel by plane, there are some confusing laws. The TSA’s screening procedures are security-focused. If they find CBD products during their search, they may call security if they feel you’re carrying cannabis.
There are well over a hundred different cannabinoids in the marijuana plant. It is understood that CBD is the non-intoxicating relative of THC. CBD is also one of the most useful cannabinoids in terms of pain relief and other forms of medicinal therapy.
That said, the state has come a long way regarding the legalities around the MMJ. This is no doubt great news for thousands of suffering individuals.
Yet despite all the rules that seem to point in the direction of legal CBD, lawmakers in the state have tried their hardest to make things complicated.
Can You Buy CBD Oil Legally in Michigan?
Several months before the legalization of cannabis in the state, on May 11, 2018, Michigan’s Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) frightened CBD sellers. It published an Advisory Bulletin that adopted a hard-hitting stance on all forms of CBD oil sold in the state.
Furthermore, Michigan has legalized recreational cannabis, so adults aged 21+ have nothing to fear if they buy a legal amount.
A majority of states now legalize marijuana in some form or another. This is incredible when you stop and think about it. Until recently, Michigan residents were not sure if CBD oil was legal in their state. Even today, it isn’t set in stone. Nonetheless, the state widely tolerates CBD sale and use. Also, Michigan now permits the sale of recreational cannabis.
CBD: The Non-Intoxicating Cannabinoid
The law firm said that LARA hoped to ‘encourage’ more individuals to apply for their MMJ card and buy from licensed dispensaries, which MMFLA licensees’ tax. More application fees and more tax from licensed dispensaries mean more money for the state.
If you are concerned about whether CBD is legal in Michigan, you should note that the Farm Bill doesn’t legalize the cannabinoid. However, it does permit the growth of industrial hemp with a maximum of 0.3% THC. Purchase CBD products that meet these criteria, and you should be fine. Also, Michigan law enforcement has no interest in arresting people for using CBD.
While there are no specified limits for CBD derived from cannabis, there are limits for cannabis possession. First-time offenders in possession of more than 2.5 ounces and up to 5 ounces may be charged with a civil infraction and fined up to $500. First-time offenders in possession of more than five ounces may be charged with a misdemeanor and fined up to $500.
This legislation also established a state licensing program through the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (MDARD) for industrial hemp growers, processors, and handlers. However, Michigan’s proposed licensing program has yet to be approved by the USDA. In the meantime, those who wish to grow, process or handle hemp must participate in Michigan’s existing Industrial Hemp Ag-Pilot Program for the 2020 growing season to meet state and federal expectations.
CBD derived from cannabis is also legal in Michigan for all residents. Cannabis became legal for medical purposes in 2008 under the Michigan Compassionate Care Initiative. Michigan also legalized cannabis for individuals 21 or older in November 2018 under The Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act.
Under Michigan’s Industrial Hemp Ag-Pilot Program, interested parties will be able to apply for either a grower license or a processor/handler license. Growers who also wish to sell industrial hemp will need to apply for a processor/handler license. Applicants cannot have any felony drug convictions in the past ten years.
Michigan CBD possession limits
To date, researchers have identified a number of potential applications linked to CBD, including anti-inflammatory, analgesic, anti-anxiety, and anti-seizure properties. Further, the chemical has shown promise in treating numerous health conditions, including seizure disorders, mood disorders such as depression, anxiety, and psychosis, chronic pain, and many more.
Cannabis became legal for medical purposes in 2008 under the Michigan Compassionate Care Initiative. Michigan also legalized cannabis for adult use in November 2018 under The Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act. CBD derived from cannabis is legal for all Michigan residents, although it is subject to regulations.
According to guidelines recently released by Michigan Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, CBD products produced from marijuana will not be regulated as marijuana if the THC content is below 0.3%. Products derived from industrial hemp with a THC concentration above 0.3% are classified as marijuana and regulated under the laws that apply to those products through the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.
Michigan CBD laws
CBD is a non-intoxicating cannabinoid found in cannabis and the second-most prominent in the plant after THC, which is mostly responsible for producing an intoxicating high. CBD can be sourced either from marijuana or hemp plants and has a wide range of potential therapeutic benefits.
Under current legislation, growers must submit samples of their industrial hemp harvest for testing. If the crop tests above 0.3% THC concentration, the grower may elect to test the crop an additional two times. If, after three tests, the harvest still shows THC levels in excess of 0.3% concentration, the crop will be confiscated and destroyed.