Gluten Free CBD Oil

CBDISTILLERY

Buy CBD Oil Online

Is CBD Gluten-Free? If you’re living gluten-free, you may be wondering, “Is there gluten in CBD products?” The answer isn’t a simple yes or no. CBD products are growing in popularity and are If you are interested in trying products made from the hemp plant – such as CBD oil – you may wonder if hemp is gluten free. The good news is that… Is Hemp Gluten Free?

Is CBD Gluten-Free?

If you’re living gluten-free, you may be wondering, “Is there gluten in CBD products?” The answer isn’t a simple yes or no.

CBD products are growing in popularity and are available in national retail outlets, including Target and Whole Foods (may not be available in all states) and even pet stores such as Petco. Unfortunately, because the CBD industry is not currently regulated, it is hard to know what is in the products or whether they are – or are not – gluten-free.

What is CBD?

CBD is short for Cannabidiol, a chemical compound, known as a cannabinoid , that is found in the Cannabis sativa plant. The cannabis plant contains over 100 identified cannabinoids including Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), the molecule that creates an intoxicated or “high” feeling in humans.

CBD can come in a number of forms:

  • Topicals – creams, lotions, ointments, balms, and salves, applied to the surface of the skin
  • Oil or Tincture – extracts in a carrier substance, taken internally
  • Capsule or Tablet – processed extracts, taken internally
  • Smokeables – minimally processed dried plant material that is combusted or warmed and inhaled
  • Edibles and Drinkables – food or drink infused with CBD extract

Many companies producing CBD products may be misinterpreting the 2018 Farm Bill and assuming all uses of CBD are legal. Anyone interested in the legalities surrounding CBD should refer to the FDA website .

In terms of CBD topicals, to comply with federal rulings, the CBD must be extracted solely from hemp plants. Hemp plants are a variation of the Cannabis sativa plant – some call it a “sister plant” – a low resin plant specially cultivated to contain negligible amounts of THC. In order to be sold legally in the United States outside of a cannabis dispensary, a product must contain less than 0.3% of THC. The product should not make any claims that it can “ affect the structure or function of the body, or to diagnose, cure, mitigate, treat or prevent disease”, or it may be classified as a drug that falls under FDA oversight.

Something to note as you’re shopping for CBD: You may have seen products on the market that say they contain hemp seed oil or hemp seed extract. While they may be marketed as “cannabis” or suggest they contain CBD, they do not. Any product using hemp seeds or hemp seed derivatives do not contain any CBD or THC.

Is CBD naturally gluten-free?

As a plant, hemp is naturally gluten-free. Because it is an agricultural crop, hemp could come into contact with gluten at any point from growing to harvesting, shipping, storing or processing, like any other agricultural product.

The hemp plant is a phytoextractor and phyto-accumulator, meaning that it pulls heavy metals from the earth and can hold onto them in its parts. Extractions from hemp plants need to be processed in a way that removes heavy metals and other contaminants, but this is not always the case.

While CBD product manufacturers are not required to get their products tested, savvy companies pay the extra money to invest in third-party lab testing to verify the purity of their products (free from pesticides, mold, fungus, heavy metals and other contaminants) and the accuracy of the concentration of CBD printed on the product label. Current lab testing for CBD products does not include testing for gluten.

If a CBD company is claiming that their product is gluten-free, deciding to buy and use that product becomes a matter of whether you trust the source and the seller.

CBD can be processed in several different ways with different compositions after processing. The three main compositions of CBD extracts are:

Full spectrum – whole plant extractions that include all cannabinoids including CBD and small or trace amounts of THC

Broad spectrum – whole plant extractions where the THC has been removed but CBD and other cannabinoids remain

Isolate – a more thorough extraction and distillation process that isolates the CBD from the rest of the plant matter

The risk of gluten being present in a CBD product can depend on how the hemp was processed and handled and what other ingredients were added during manufacturing.

See also  CBD Gummies Subscription

What is in a CBD topical?

CBD topicals could potentially contain gluten. If a CBD product is labeled gluten-free, there are currently no regulations or checks to ensure the claim is accurate. Note that CBD topical products are not covered by the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA) and are not obligated to follow gluten-free labeling regulations. As of Summer 2021, there is no governmental agency overseeing the quality or compliance of CBD product manufacturing.

Most CBD topicals contain ingredients other than CBD, such as a carrier substance like an oil. Companies also add other plant extracts, such as lavender, peppermint, turmeric, and arnica, to enhance effectiveness. They may also contain emulsifiers, binders, preservatives, or even active ingredients to increase absorption. Check ingredients listed on CBD product labels to make sure you don’t have a known allergy or sensitivity to any of the added ingredients.

Is Hemp Gluten Free?

The hemp plant itself does not contain any gluten. Hemp is often grown in rotation with plants that do contain gluten and cross-contamination is possible when the same harvesting, storage, and transportation equipment is used across crops. If you’d like to avoid gluten, you should look for products labeled gluten free. Manufacturers can only use this description on their packaging if the product contains less than 20 ppm of gluten.

Topics Covered

Nearly 5 million Americans follow a gluten-free diet. Gluten, a protein found in certain grains (like wheat, rye, and barley), is linked to inflammation and digestive issues for people who suffer from celiac disease and gluten intolerance or sensitivity. Eliminating gluten can be a way to control gastrointestinal symptoms and (for those with celiac disease) avoid causing damage in their small intestine.

If you are interested in trying products made from the hemp plant – such as CBD oil – you may be curious about whether hemp is gluten free (GF). The good news is that hemp itself is gluten-free (GF). However, hemp can be grown in the same fields as grains that do contain gluten. If you are on a GF diet, you should be sure to only purchase products that are certified gluten free.

Green Wellness Life offers a full range of products made from hemp, including CBD oil capsules, topicals, and edibles. Many of our products are gluten free, making them a safe choice for anyone who wants to explore hemp and/or CBD while maintaining a gluten free diet.

What Is Hemp?

Hemp is a type of cannabis, a flowering plant in the Cannabaceae family. It is very similar to the marijuana plant, with one key difference: the level of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). THC is the psychoactive component in marijuana that makes you feel high or stoned.

Under U.S. law, to be considered hemp, a cannabis plant must contain no more than 0.3% THC. Hemp that has 0.3% or less THC content by dry weight can be legally grown and sold in the United States. By contrast, the THC content of marijuana is often 30% or greater.

Hemp has a number of uses. It can be turned into a number of products, including paper, textiles, animal feed, plastic, and clothing. It can also be used to make food products, such as hemp seeds, hemp protein powder, hemp milk, and hemp oil.

There are a number of nutritional benefits associated with hemp seed, which is considered a complete protein that is high in fiber. The stalks, leaves and flowers of hemp also contain compounds known as cannabinoids, including cannabidiol (CBD). When CBD is extracted from hemp, it can be made into CBD oil and various other products.

Is Hemp GF?

The hemp plant itself does not contain any gluten. However, hemp is often grown in rotation with other crops that contain gluten, such as wheat. Crop rotation is a practice used by farmers to return nutrients to the soil and increase soil health.

Because farmers rotate hemp with grains, they often use the same equipment to harvest, store, and transport these crops. This raises the possibility of cross-contamination. While hemp is GF, there is a chance that some hemp could be above the legal limit of 20 parts per million of gluten.

If you are interested in products made from hemp, the best way to avoid gluten cross contamination is to seek out products that are gluten free. Manufacturers can only use this description on their packaging or in their advertising if their product has less than 20 ppm of gluten.

Should I Take a Hemp Product If I Am on a Gluten Free Diet?

There are many potential benefits associated with hemp and products derived from the hemp plant (such as CBD oil). Hemp itself is a great source of fiber, magnesium, and essential fatty acids. As noted above, early research shows that CBD may reduce the symptoms of certain conditions – including digestive issues that often lead people to adopt a gluten free diet.

See also  CBD Oil Benefits Chart

Before adding any supplement to your diet, you should always consult with your doctor. They will be able to advise you on potential interactions, proper serving sizes, and whether the supplement may help your specific condition.

If you do decide to try a hemp product, be sure to only purchase items that are certified gluten free. For CBD oils and other products, look for a “GF” designation on the label. In particular, be sure that the carrier oil used for a CBD tincture is gluten free and that a CBD capsule is not made with wheat starch.

You should also seek out CBD products that are made from industrial hemp grown in the United States, and that have been independently tested for quality. This can help to assure you that you are getting what you pay for – and nothing else.

Green Wellness Life offers an array of gluten free CBD products, including:

We also offer highly nutritious, GF hemp products, such as Patsy’s hemp hearts.

Buy Gluten Free Hemp Products Online

There are a lot of great reasons to add hemp to your diet, whether you chose to sprinkle hemp hearts on your salad, use hemp oil for cooking, or take CBD as a supplement. If you are following a gluten free diet, you can still take advantage of the benefits of hemp by looking for a product that is labeled GF.

At Green Wellness Life, we aren’t doctors and cannot diagnose or treat any condition. However, we can offer you the latest research into the benefits of CBD and hemp, and help you choose a product that is right for you. To learn more, press the live chat button, call us at (888) 772-7875 (Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. EST), or fill out our online contact form.

Sources:

About David Kranker

David Kranker is the digital marketing manager at Green Wellness Life. David is passionate about CBD and making well-sourced CBD information/research accessible to all. David likes to keep his finger on the pulse of the CBD industry to report the latest studies, statistics, and findings from the community.

Is Hemp Gluten Free?

Gluten sensitivity ranges from the health-threatening celiac disease to an allergy or intolerance of gluten. From these allergies or sensitivities have come the “gluten free diet,” where people avoid gluten and only eat gluten free foods and medications.

With celiac disease, over time the immune reaction to eating gluten creates inflammation that can damage the lining of the small intestine, leading to medical complications or other issues. It can also prevent the absorption of some nutrients. An allergy or intolerance to gluten can result in symptoms like bloating, diarrhea, abdominal pain, drowsiness, and skin rashes.

It is important for people with these health issues to avoid gluten to stay healthy. Some people who are not intolerant to gluten also avoid gluten to live a healthier lifestyle because of some of the benefits that come with it.

With the increasing knowledge about these gluten diseases and the influx of the need for gluten free products, more companies are making gluten free foods and products to accommodate these health issues. However, sometimes finding gluten free products can be challenging and isn’t as easy as looking for “gluten free” on the label.

Hemp products and ingredients are becoming more prevalent in recent years, so we’ll teach you what to look for when reaching for a hemp product.

Is Hemp Gluten Free?

Hemp is a plant in the cannabis sativa family. It grows in stocks that are harvested and manufactured into different products. These products include foods, health products, beauty products, pet supplies, clothing, and building supplies. All parts of the hemp plant are naturally gluten free, including the seeds.

However, since hemp is a grain-like crop, it is frequently grown in rotation with other crops that have gluten, like wheat, barley, and rye. This means that sometimes when planting hemp crops, there is a slight chance that a gluten grain is accidentally introduced into the growing process.

After the hemp is grown and harvested, it is sent to different manufacturing plants for processing. At this stage, the hemp crop may be cross-contaminated with other grains containing gluten. This is typically the case when it comes to manufacturers working with different kinds of grains in one plant.

See also  Five CBD Daily Buzz Hemp Full Spectrum Gummies

So, when buying hemp products, know that the hemp will not affect your gluten free diet, but if you are allergic to gluten or have celiac disease, make sure the product wasn’t grown or manufactured alongside grains that contain gluten.

Is CBD Gluten Free?

CBD, or cannabidiol, is a naturally occurring substance found in cannabis plants. CBD is most commonly extracted from hemp plants, which is part of the cannabis family and is then used in health supplements or products.

If the production of the CBD oil is manufactured in a facility that does not have any gluten contamination, then the CBD oil is most likely gluten free. However, it also depends on the carrier oil and other ingredients that are combined with the cannabidiol. CBD oil must have a carrier oil for administration because the pure form of CBD extract is too thick and unpleasant tasting for consumption on its own.

Different manufacturers use different carrier oils to help make the CBD usable. The most commonly used carrier oils are gluten free, including coconut oil, sunflower oil, hemp seed oil, palm oil, avocado oil, grapeseed oil, and olive oil. Some oils may contain gluten contamination or are simply not gluten free, such as oat oil and hay absolute oil. Some pill forms of CBD oil may contain gluten, due to a capsule ingredient called “wheat starch.” When looking for the right gluten free CBD oil, make sure to check the label to ensure there are no gluten carrier oils or other gluten ingredients.

Why Take CBD Oil on a Gluten Free Diet?

Vitamin deficiencies are very common in those who suffer from celiac disease and lesser gluten allergies. CBD oil provides a wide range of health benefits, including vitamins that those not eating gluten might not be getting enough of.

Hemp and CBD oil are great sources of a number of vitamins and minerals, including zinc, magnesium, vitamin D, vitamin E, and iron. It’s also high in fiber, which will help support your digestive system. Plus, hemp contains a high amount of protein, including all of the essential amino acids, and is a great source of the essential fatty acids omega-3 and omega-6.

What Can You Do to Enjoy Hemp Products?

When looking for gluten-free hemp products, look for products made by companies that process their own hemp or those who have high visibility of the hemp crops they use. Companies that grow their own hemp or have visibility over the hemp growth are able to monitor and oversee hemp processing better than companies that do not source their own hemp.

Depending on the hemp product, some companies will include “gluten free” on the label to help make it easier for consumers to spot the products that are safe for them to use. This labeling means that it is guaranteed to contain no more than 20 parts per million of gluten. The reason it can’t be 100 percent guaranteed gluten free is because technology can’t measure any amount less than 20 ppm in foods to determine the gluten content. Evidence shows that these trace amounts of gluten, less than 20 pmm, will not have negative health effects on those with celiac disease or gluten allergies.

CBD American Shaman only selects the highest-grade hemp plants for our products. The hemp we use is responsibly grown in the U.S. on farms to help the environment and provide the best products on the market. Our company is certified by the U.S. Hemp Authority as using industry-leading standards in product safety and quality. We use coconut oil, also known as MCT Oil, as our carrier oil for most of our CBD products, making our CBD products gluten free.

We ensure our CBD products are safe for those who are living a gluten free lifestyle because we pride ourselves in the exactness we take in manufacturing our products to ensure we provide the best, safest hemp products.

The content on this site is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. While research has shown that CBD has the potential to help provide beneficial outcomes for several complaints, it is advisable to seek the advice of a physician or other qualified health care provider when you have questions regarding any medical condition and when starting, augmenting or discontinuing any existing health routine.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.