Although Utah’s recreational marijuana laws are lagging behind some of its neighboring states, it has recently introduced a medical marijuana program.
If you’re looking to purchase legal CBD in Utah, you’ll need to know a few things about the law before placing an order. This article will clear up any concerns you might have about CBD in Utah and point you in the direction of reliable suppliers locally and online.
Marijuana plants are the ones the average person associates with hippies and smoking weed. These plants contain high levels of THC, which is the chemical in marijuana that gets you high.
CBD produced using industrial hemp will generally contain less than 0.3% THC. Using industrial hemp CBD means that you’ll get all the benefits of CBD without worrying about the psychoactive effects of THC.
Only buy CBD from companies that can produce third-party lab tests. This is the most important step when buying any CBD. These labs ensure that what you are buying is actually CBD and doesn’t contain any dangerous chemicals. If a company can’t provide the tests, don’t give it your money.
Only purchase full-spectrum CBD products that have been made using the entire hemp plant. This process captures additional beneficial cannabinoids that help CBD do its job quickly and efficiently.
Often, you’re charged with more than just simple possession. For instance, you might be caught with drug paraphernalia or while driving, both of which can add substantial fines as well as time to your jail sentence.
Table of Contents
If you’re caught with more than 16 ounces, your charge becomes a felony. This can be punished with up to five years in prison and a fine of $9500. The same felony charges apply to the cultivation or growing of any amount of marijuana.
Once Utah has implemented its medical marijuana program, keep your eyes open for a dispensary near you.
In addition to federal regulation of CBD, the Farm Bill also gave states the option to regulate and prohibit the cultivation and commerce of CBD. States may also regulate CBD in food, beverages, dietary supplements, and cosmetic products independently, even before the FDA finalizes its policies. Utah represents one such state that chooses to provide regulations regarding the consumption of CBD.
Consumers can also shop from a wide variety of online outlets for CBD products, read consumer reviews, and ship purchases to their homes. Online shopping also offers the ability to gather detailed information about each product, compare different products and product types, and compare products to find the best price.
Why is CBD sometimes illegal?
In December 2018, Utah lawmakers passed House Bill 3001, legalizing the production and sale of hemp-derived CBD products. Prior to this, individuals who purchased CBD were required to have a hemp extract registration card. CBD with .3 % THC or less can now legally be purchased by non-patients living in Utah. CBD sourced from cannabis can be legally purchased by medical marijuana patients from state-licensed pharmacies.
Utah CBD possession limits
There are possession limits, however, for CBD products derived from marijuana. Patients with qualifying medical conditions who have a medical marijuana card or a letter of recommendation from their medical provider may obtain up to a 30-day supply.